Live Blog: Apple's iPhone SE event: we'll be there live

[ad_1]

It’s the Apple event the internet’s been talking about for months, with rumors of a cheaper iPhone, smaller iPad Pro and potentially even a new Apple Watch continuing to circulate.

We’re reporting live from Apple’s special March 21 gathering at its Cupertino HQ, an event where the firm says “let us loop you in” – but what does it mean? Could it simply be the launch of some new Apple Watch straps? We don’t think so, but they may feature at some point.

As with all rumors, some are far more likely than others. Thankfully we’ve done the hard graft of working out what’s hot, and what’s not, and even broken out the trusty techradar rumormeter to visualize those workings.

The March 21 Apple event kicks off at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 5pm GMT (4am AET) and we’re live blogging the proceedings right here – so stick this page in your bookmarks and get ready to refresh.

08.55 – Not sure how to get out of here. It just keeps on going. Send help.

Apple iPhone SE launch
Apple is looping us in

08.45 – We love the smell of Cupertino in the morning. Pass in hand. A song in our heart. And a quiet moment of mental preparation before it all kicks off.

Apple iPhone SE event
Ready to GO.

08.30 – Still nothing from Tim, he’s usually tweeted his excitement by now. Perhaps there’s not too much to get excited about this time. In other news, the live stream page is now up if you fancy tuning in alongside our live coverage.

Apple iPhone SE event
Stay with us, please (credit: Apple)

05.00 – No word from Mr Cook just yet, but someone at Apple is already hard at work as the Apple Store is down. REPEAT: the Apple store is down.

Has it been hacked? No. This is normal behavior from the tech giant, which takes its store offline a few hours before every announcement so it can load up all the juicy details of its new products without accidentally leaking them.

Apple iPhone SE Event
And we can’t wait to see! (credit: Apple)

03.00 PT – Tim Cook is fast asleep, or at least we hope he is, because he’s got quite the day ahead of him. There’s talk that he’ll be in charge of launching the iPhone SE, 9.7-inch iPad Pro (or will it be called the iPad Air 3?) and a range of new Apple Watch straps. There’s even the possibility of a few surprises too.

Of course, the question on everyone’s lips is, what will Mr Cook be wearing? Back in September he donned a suave lilac (or is that indigo?) shirt, dark wash jeans and dress shoes combo to launch the iPhone 6S and 6S Plus. It’s no polo neck and sneakers, but you can’t say he didn’t look good.

Apple March 21 event live blog
Hello everybody! (credit: Apple)

[ad_2]

Source link

Leave a Reply