Watch this: Here's how you can watch tonight's total solar eclipse

[ad_1]

You may not be able to catch the tonight’s total solar eclipse with your own eyes, but you can catch the fast-approaching event with a little help from NASA and YouTube.

On course for today at approximately 5:38pm PT/8:38pm ET/1:38am GMT, the moon will come between the Earth and the sun near the Pacific Ocean and Southeast Asia, resulting in a solar eclipse set to last for approximately four minutes.

Image Credit NASA
(Credit: NASA)

Since the celestial phenomenon will mostly occur over the ocean and be only partially visible to nearby countries such as Thailand, Borneo and Malaysia, NASA TV is providing streaming coverage of the eclipse starting at 8pm ET.

According to NASA, who are testing out new ways to observe the sun’s corona thanks to the blocked light, this will be a “preview” for the next big total solar eclipse, which will cut right across the continental US during August of next year.

The Slooh community, comprised of a global network of telescopes that users can observe and manipulate, also plans to capture the event via livestreaming. You can watch Slooh’s broadcast on YouTube, complete with pre-show coverage: