America’s Cup challengers and history – an annotated infographic


Bermuda hosts the 35th edition of the America’s Cup in 2017.

Since 1851, the best sailors in the world, on the fastest boats, have competed for yachting’s most prestigious prize.

Apart from the United States only three other nations, Australia, New Zealand and Switzerland, have claimed the trophy, affectionately known as the “Auld Mug”.

E&T magazine has celebrated the America’s Cup on a number of occasions, featuring the plans of Britain’s Team Land Rover BAR to win the 2017 competition; an interview with the head of the British team, Martin Whitmarsh; and the British team’s early preparations in 2015.

Click on the graphic for an expanded view.

America's Cup 2017



Source link

Leave a Reply