Countdown to the Elektra Awards 2016


Elektra Awards 2016 - Finalists

Copyright: DFphotography

These are the individual success stories and technical and business achievements which will be recognised and presented to an international audience at the Gala Dinner which takes place this Tursday, on 1 December 2016 at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London (W1K 7TN).

Elektra Awards 2016 are supported by: Avnet, Digi-Key, Mentor Graphics, Micron, Mouser Electronics, Napier, Panasonic, Power Integrations, Rohde & Schwarz, RS Components, Southern Manufacturing and Electronics, Swindon Silicon Systems.

We hope to see you there for a great evening!

Just as a reminder, ahead of the event, these are the finalists for the 2016 Awards:

Elektra Awards 2016 – Finalists

Distributor of the Year

Avnet Abacus
Conrad Business Supplies
Mouser Electronics
RS Components
Solid State Supplies


Manufacturer of the Year

Axiom Manufacturing Service
Exception EMS
Speedboard Assembly Services
Texcel Technology


New Company of the Year

Brompton Technology


Excellence in Product Design for Medical

Excelsys Technologies
Pikkerton & Panasonic Automotive & Industrial Systems
Plessey Semiconductors


Excellence in Product Design for High-Reliability Systems

Smiths Connectors


Design Team of the Year

ByteSnap Design
Cambridge Design Partnership


Educational Support Award

BBC Learning
Premier Farnell / element14
European Passive Components Institute
National Instruments
Rohde & Schwarz UK
Yellow Beak Computer


Rising Star New Engineer of the Year

Robert Green (Loughborough University)
Christos Flouris (Sarsen Technology)
Patrycja Walachowska (Pico Technology)
Jacek Gryglewicz (Inex Microtechnology)


Design Tools and development software Award

Cadence Design Systems – Virtuoso analogue design environment
Mentor Graphics – Veloce DFT App
Microchip Technology – MPLAB Xpress IDE
Microsemi – Libero SoC design suite
UltraSoC – Bare metal security tools
Vicor – Power system designer


Passive & Electromechanical Product of Year

Kemet – Arcshield high voltage 0603 capacitor
LEMO UK – NiCorAl conductive coating
Panasonic Automotive & Industrial Systems – Polymer hybrid aluminium electrolytic capacitor
TT Electronics – LRMAP low value shunt resistor
Vishay Foil Resistors – FRFC precision flip-chip resistor


Power System Product of the Year

Bytec Healthcare – Medical battery pack for moveable instruments
Ericsson – BMR458 650W quarter-brick power module
Maxim Integrated – ModelGauge m5
Panasonic Automotive & Industrial Systems – NASBIS thermal isolation sheet
Texas Instruments – TPS54A20 Small 10A, 10MHz DC-DC converter
Turbo Power Systems – 100kW isolated DC-DC converter


Semiconductor Product of the Year – Analogue

ams – AS7000 Biosensor
e2v – EV12DS400 12-bit, 4.5GS/s DAC
IDT – F1455 High gain variable gain amplifier
Intersil – ISL29501 Time of flight signal processing IC
Linear Technology – LT6657 Low drift bandgap voltage reference
Microsemi – ZL70550 Low power sub-gigahertz radio transceiver


Semiconductor Product of the Year – Digital

FTDI Chip – FT260 dual interface USB bridge
Lattice Semiconductor – CrossLink programmable bridge
Silicon Labs – EFR wireless Gecko microcontroller
Texas Instruments – MSP430 FRAM microcontroller with touch
Toshiba – 48-layer stacked 3D flash
Xilinx – UltraScale16nm family


LED Lighting Product of the Year

Khatod Optoelectronic – Silicone TIR lenses
Plessey Semiconductors – Attis-7 LED plant growth light
Verbatim – Vx filter for LEDs


Test Product of the Year

Anritsu – MS2710XA Remote spectrum monitor
Keysight Technologies – M8196A 92GS/s arbitrary waveform generator
Mentor Graphics – Tessant ScanPro
National Instruments UK – Software-defined wireless test system
Pico Technology – PicoScope 2000B
Rohde & Schawarz UK – Scope Rider portable instrument
Smiths Connectors – Silmat elastomeric test socket


Internet-of-Things Product Innovation Award

Adesto Technologies – Moneta CBRAM
Imagination Technologies – Creator Ci40 development kit
R-Nox – Zive radiation monitor
RuuviTag – Bluetooth sensor beacon
Semtech – LoRa radio technology
Utilitywise – IoT-enabled building management system


Consumer Product Innovation – (Readers’ Choice)


University Research award – (Readers’ Choice)


Panel of judges

Steve Furber, ICL Professor of Computer Engineering, School of Computer Science, University of Manchester
Markus Levy, President, Embedded Microprocessor Benchmark Consortium (EEMBC)
Paul Hide director of operations and private sector programmes, techUK
Andy G Sellars, lead technologist, manufacturing and materials, InnovateUK.
Jon Howes, Technology Director, Beecham Research
Derek Boyd, CEO, National Microelectronics Institute
Adam Fletcher, chairman of the Electronic Components Supply Network (ECSN)
Mick Elliott, technology editor 

Nick Flaherty, technology editor
Steve Bush, technical editor, Electronics Weekly
Richard Wilson, editor, Electronics Weekly (chairman)


Source link

Leave a Reply