How to watch the Austrian Grand Prix online: live stream F1 for free from anywhere


Austrian Grand Prix – where and when

The 2.7 mile/4.3km Red Bull Ring is one of the newer circuits on the Formula One calendar. It’s towards the south of Austria, around 3 hours south west of Vienna.

These are the crucial timings from the Austrian Grand Prix weekend:

Practice 1 – Friday June 29 at 11am (10am BST, 5am ET, 3am PT)

Practice 2 – Friday June 29 at 3pm (2pm BST, 9am ET, 6am PT)

Practice 3 – Saturday June 30 at midday (11am BST, 6am ET, 4am PT)

Qualifying – Saturday June 30 at 3pm (2pm BST, 9am ET, 6am PT)

The race itself – Sunday July 1 at 3.10pm (2.10pm BST, 9.10am ET 6.10am PT). And you can see it all with our F1 live stream guide.

So whose weekend is this one going to be? The F1 drivers’ championship keeps swinging between Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel, with Hamilton’s win in France last week giving him the edge…for now. You can stream F1 live with this guide to see how things progress at the Austrian Grand Prix.

So it’s all starting to look a bit like a two-horse race, with Hamilton and Vettel looking like they’ll be going head-to-head at the top of the Drivers’ World Championship. But July is a busy month on the F1 calendar, and Hamilton’s Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas won at Austria’s Red Bull Ring last year. He’ll be hungry to make it two in a row so that he can make ground on the top two.

Watching the Austrian Grand Prix from the comfort of your own TV is thankfully really straightforward, and on pretty much any device. And the best thing about it…you can do so absolutely free of charge, regardless of where on earth you are! Read on to find out how to stream F1 live.

How to watch the Austrian Grand Prix for free anywhere in the world

If you don’t have easy access to watch the Austrian Grand Prix online in your country, the best way to watch it for free is to download and install a VPN service, which effectively tricks your computer into thinking that it’s in another country. It’s really easy to do, and works for loads of sporting events where live streams may not be readily available where you are:

1. Download and install a VPN
We’ve tested all of the major VPN services and we rate ExpressVPN as the absolute best. It’s compatible with all of your devices, supports most streaming services and ranks amongst the fastest. You can even install it on devices like an Amazon Fire TV Stick, Apple TV, Xbox and PlayStation. So for a one-stop shop, you can’t go wrong with Express – but there are more fantastic VPN options out there as well:

The best 3 VPNs for streaming sports online
1. ExpressVPN:  the best all-round VPN for streaming, comes with 30-day trial
2. NordVPN: SmartPlay tech makes NordVPN a great choice for streaming
3. VyprVPN: blazing speeds make VyprVPN a great choice for 4K video

2. Connect to the appropriate server location
Simply open the VPN app, hit ‘choose location’ and select the appropriate location – it’s super easy to do. Choose UK if you want to stream F1 live and for free.

3. Go to a channel that’s showing the Grand Prix
Use a channel in the UK that’s streaming all the F1 action you can handle from Austria (see below). We really like the TVPlayer.com service, which – crucially – is both free and legal.

It’s worth noting that TVPlayer.com didn’t have the rights to broadcast the Monaco Grand Prix, but we believe that the Austrian Grand Prix should be fine.

How to stream F1 live in the UK for free:

If you’re in the UK then Channel 4 is the way to go for today’s free-to-air coverage. And the station’s All4 platform is free and straightforward to access on a range of devices including tablets, mobile phones, personal computers and Smart TVs.

Rather not have to sign in? Then the alternative way to access Channel 4 is by going to TVPlayer.com. It’s a free, legal, online streaming service based in the UK which offers hundreds of channels.

Formula One 2018 is also being shown on Sky Sports F1. Live streaming of all F1 races is available online to Sky customers with a subscription to Sky Sports F1, as well as access to a mobile device with the Sky Go app. 

So if you already have a Sky subscription and prefer its coverage to Channel 4’s, then job’s a good. If you want the Sky coverage but don’t want to splash out on a full Sky contract you could always purchase a day, week or month pass using Now TV. A daily pass costs £7.99, and is available on more than 60 devices, including TV, mobile phones, and games consoles, and you can register up to four of them.

How to watch Austrian Grand Prix in the US for free:

In the US, ESPN and ABC have the rights to show the F1 live (using Sky’s UK coverage). That’s great news if you have cable, but if you’re a cord-cutter you could try a free trial to another streaming service like Sling and Fubo and watch on there. 

Out of the US and want to watch the coverage? No worries – just use a VPN and register to a US location.

How to stream the Austrian Grand Prix in Australia

In Australia? Then your main option is the very snazzy-sounding Fox Sports Race Centre. You’ll be in for some late nights, with the main race starting at 11.10pm AEST on Sunday night.

The Fox Sports package doesn’t come cheap, BUT there is a two week FREE trial if you want to give it a try before you buy. That let’s you use the Foxtel Now app as well, so you can live stream to your preferred device.

Where can I watch the Austrian Grand Prix using a VPN?

A VPN will enable you to watch the Austria Grand Prix from literally anywhere. So that obviously includes: Australia, Finland, Israel, Canada, Germany, Denmark, India, Netherlands, Spain, Brazil, Belgium, Romania, Mexico, France, Sweden, Italy, Portugal, Czech Republic, Ireland, Poland, Kenya, Hungary, South Africa, Indonesia, China, Nigeria, Bangladesh, Russia, Japan, Egypt and more!

Photos courtesy of Formula1.com



Source link